The hours are Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to
3:00 p.m. for background checks and CCW licensing and renewal. No
Appointment is necessary.
Fees for BCI and FBI fingerprints are as follows:
$25.00 for BCI Only
$30.00 for FBI Only
$55.00 for both BCI/FBI
Please know what type of background check you need when you come
to the Sheriff's Office. You also need to bring your driver's license with
For juveniles being fingerprinted: you must bring your
parent or guardian with you at the time of fingerprinting. You must also
provide documentation to prove your identity: i.e. birth certificate,
driver's license, social security card, or school identification with picture.
CCW Licensing and Renewal
To view a copy of the CCW booklet
from the Attorney General:
Effective July 18, 2009, the fees to obtain a CCW license/renewal will
If you have lived in Ohio for five years or more:
Emergency, temporary license: $37.00
If you have not lived in Ohio for five years, the fees are as
Emergency, temporary license: $61.00
Replacement license fee:
Please bring exact change - we do need keep cash on premises.
Items to bring with you to the Sheriff's Office:
1. Completed application - application must be the most
current application, revision date of 09/09
2. Copy of certificate - for new applicants only
3. 2x2 passport type picture - for new applicants only
4. Payment - we accept cash, money orders and
It is the policy of the Morrow County Sheriff's Office to ensure
that a clear procedure for the issuance or denial of a concealed handgun license
is established. Thereby ensuring the safety of our citizens in keeping
unauthorized persons from trying to legally carry a concealed handgun and those
lawful citizens in our community the ability to carry a concealed handgun, which
is their constitutional right.
In order for Ohio residents to obtain a concealed carry license
they must meet the following requirements, in accordance with Ohio Revised Code
1. At least 21 years of age
2. An Ohio resident at least 45 days and a
resident of the county of application
(or an adjacent
county) for at least 30 days.
3. Must have received a Certificate of
Competency within 3 years prior to date
of application for
new CCW application or within 6 years for a renewal application,
covering the training requirements
Produce a document that evidences the applicant with 6 years immediately
A. Is a retired law enforcement officer
B. Is an active or reserve member of the US Military
C. Has been honorably discharged from the US Military
D. And through participation in above employment the applicant
acquired experience in handling handguns and that experience
is equivalent to Training Requirements.
4. Applicant is not disqualified pursuant
to criminal background check or mental
or retired as a result of a mental disability. Also, the
applicant is not
prohibited by "Having Weapon While Under Disability"
5. Must have a color photo taken within 30
days of application
6. Attest that applicant has read pamphlet
provided by OPOTC as specified and
also attest the
handgun shall be carried for a lawful purpose.
7. Non-refundable fee at the time of
Anyone wishing to obtain a CCW license, must complete an
application which can be picked up at the Morrow County Sheriff's Office along
with the "Ohio's Concealed Carry Law" handbook.
CCW Prohibited Places of
1. Police Station, Sheriff's Office or State
Highway Patrol Post
2. Premises controlled by the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation
3. Correctional institutions or other detention facilities
4. Airport terminals or commercial airplanes
5. Institutions for the care of mentally ill persons
6. Courthouses or buildings in which a courtroom is located
7. Universities, unless locked or in the process of being
locked in a motor vehicle.
8. Places of worship, unless the place of worship permits
9. Child daycare centers
10. Premises that dispense liquor. Concealed firearms are also banned in a
room or arena in which liquor is dispensed for which a class D permit has been
issued. A class D permit is generally issued to an establishment that sells
alcohol for consumption on the premises. Be certain of the type of permit and
whether liquor is being dispensed before you enter with a concealed handgun.
11. Buildings owned by the state or any political subdivision.
Buildings under the control of the state or any of its political subdivisions,
such as counties, cities and the like also prohibit concealed firearms.
This prohibition also extends to all portions of any building that is leased by
the state government. For example, it would extend to the floor of a private
building that is leased by the government. Additionally, libraries, which
are often funded through a consortium of governmental bodies, are covered by the
12. School safety zones. Concealed handgun license holders must be
especially cautious when entering school safety zones. A “school safety zone”
includes a school, school building, school premises, school activity, and school
bus. For purposes of this statute, a school includes everything up to the
property boundary. Under the law, an offense is within the vicinity of a school
if it is committed within the property boundary or within 1,000 feet of the
boundaries of any school premises.
13. Any place with a No Carry sign posted